AALHE Board of Directors 2023-2024

For information on the Board of Directors terms and responsibilities, see below.




Shannon Milligan, AALHE President
Director of Student Affairs Assessment, Evaluation, and Organizational Dev
University of California, San Diego
Board Term: 2020-2024




Constance Tucker, AALHE President-Elect
Vice Provost of Educational Improvement and Innovation
Oregon Health and Science University
Board Term: 2021-2026




Kathleen Gorski, AALHE Past President
Dean of Learning Outcomes, Curriculum and Program Development
Waubonsee Community College
Board Term: 2018-2024; President 2022-2023




Moreen Carvan
Sr. Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs
Rosalind Franklin University
Board Term: 2019-2024




Steven Hawks
Director of Undergraduate Assessment
University of Minnesota
Board Term: 2019-2024




Erin Milne
Director of Assessment
Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
Board Term: 2020-2025




Timothy Melvin
Assistant Professor and Director of Assessment
Marshall University
Board Term: 2020-2025




Fiona Chrystall
Director of Curriculum Quality Assurance and Assessment
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College
Board Term: 2021-2026




Frederick Burrack
Director of Assessment
Kansas State University
Board Term: 2021-2026




Gina Polychronopoulos
Associate Director, Curricular Assessment
George Mason University
Board Term: 2021-2026




Kara Moloney
Academic Assessment Team Lead
University of California, Davis
Board Term: 2021-2026




Karen White-Goyzueta
Adjunct Faculty, Psychology
Southern New Hampshire University
Board Term: 2022-2027




Rebecca Gibbons
Assistant Director for Assessment
University of South Florida
Board Term: 2022-2027




Yi-Chin Wu
Academic Assessment Manager
Georgia Institute of Technology
Board Term: 2022-2027




Leslie Harris
Digital Pedagogy & Scholarship Specialist
Bucknell University
Board Term: 2023-2028


Board of Directors roles and responsibilities from the AALHE Bylaws:

Section 1. Management. The board of directors (hereinafter “Board”) of the Association shall have the responsibility for general management and control of the activities of the Association and shall exercise the powers that may be exercised or performed by the Association under the laws of the State of Kentucky and the United States, these bylaws, and the Articles of Incorporation. Included among such responsibilities shall be:

  1. Hiring of the Executive Director;
  2. Establishing and modifying the Association's mission and vision;
  3. Approving all Association policies;
  4. Approving the Association’s strategic plan;
  5. Approving the annual budget and any revisions thereto;
  6. Setting dues for all categories of membership;
  7. Reviewing the Association’s annual audit;
  8. Appointing committees; and
  9. Periodically reviewing the effectiveness of the Association, its services and its staff.

Section 2. Number and Terms. The Board shall consist of between twelve (12) to fifteen (15) Members and the Executive Director as a non-voting Member. Three (3) of the Members shall be the President, President Elect and Past President, who shall be elected as set forth in Article V, Section 2. Members who are elected to position of President will serve through the positions of President Elect, President, and Past President and be considered active members of the board and in the case of their term ending before serving as Past President, their term shall be extended accordingly. The remaining nine (9) to twelve (12) Members shall be elected for staggered terms as follows:

A.    Each year Members shall be elected to serve for five (5)-year terms. The number of open seats shall be determined by the number of board members’ terms expiring in that year.

B.    Members shall be eligible to serve no more than two consecutive terms on the Board. Members may be returned to the Board after being off the Board for five (5) years.

C.    In the event of a vacancy on the Board, the Board may appoint a person to serve the remainder of the term of the vacated Board seat.

Section 3. Meetings. The Board shall meet annually at the Association conference and shall meet by electronic means at least every four months in the interim.

Section 4. Quorum. A majority of the Board Members shall constitute a quorum. In determining a quorum the Executive Director shall not be counted as a Member of the Board.

Section 5. Remuneration. Members of the board shall serve without salaries or other remuneration; provided, however, the Board may approve travel expenditures or expenses occurred in fulfillment of AALHE responsibilities.

Section 6. Removal from Office. Any Member of the Board who fails to attend three (3) regular meetings of the Board in an AALHE administrative year (July-June) may be removed by a majority vote of the remaining Board Members. Arriving to a regular meeting of the Board more than 15 minutes late is considered an absence.