Committee Information

The resolution of each Committee is approved by the Board and the general descriptions and responsibilities of each Committee is included in the Association Bylaws. Committees are comprised of volunteers and are led by Chairs with the support of Board Liaisons. Chairs, Vice Chairs, and Board Liaisons of the Committees transition leadership annually in July. The names, descriptions, and leadership of each active Committee are listed below.

Volunteer on a Committee

The AALHE volunteer community is an active group of assessment professionals around the nation who come together to share their knowledge and gain experience in their field. As a volunteer, you can make valuable professional connections, learn new skills, and help AALHE continually improve. The Committees are actively recruiting volunteers for the July 2022-June 2023 year. Learn more about volunteering on an AALHE Committee and sign up on the AALHE Volunteer Form

Volunteer on an AALHE Committee


Active Committees 2022-2023


Board Liaison: Steven Hawks
Chair: Leigh Robinson
Vice Chair: Karol Batey

The Communications Committee coordinates and disseminates information about AALHE and its events, manages AALHE’s social media accounts, and supports communications efforts of other standing committees.


Chair: Shannon Milligan
Board Liaison: Moreen Carvan

The Conference Committee makes recommendations for the conference experience, supports the proposal process, and plans activities to engage conference attendees.

Executive Committee

President 2022-2023: Kathleen Gorski
Past President: Josie Welsh
President Elect: Shannon Milligan

The Executive Committee consists of the President-Elect, the current President, and the Past President/Treasurer. Its responsibilities include assuring the continued and effective operation of standing committees; monitoring progress towards the strategic objectives and making recommendations to the board to assure progress; planning the agenda for board meetings; regularly consulting with the President on operational decisions and carrying out executive functions as designated by the President; and planning and overseeing regular communications with membership.


Chair: Tim Melvin
Vice Chair: Josie Welsh

Finance Committee membership includes current and past AALHE board of directors’ members only and shall review financial and budget documents, make policy recommendations regarding finances and budget, and consider the fiscal needs of the Association regarding growth and stability.


Board Liaison: Frederick Burrack
Chair: Laura Aboyan
Vice Chair: Coral Bender

The Infrastructure Committee shall ensure the continuity of AALHE operations by having a thorough understanding of AALHE’s policies and procedures and collecting, organizing, and making recommendations to the Executive Committee for AALHE policies. The Committee shall also coordinate the nominations and elections procedures for the Board of Directors and President Elect of the Association.

President's Committee on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Board Liaison: Kathleen Gorski
Chair: Tracy Bartholomew
Vice Chair: Foad Ghasemi

The President’s Committee on Diversity, Equity and inclusion shall work to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion among assessment practitioners and among members. The committee reports directly to the President and provides this person with recommendations on how to promote DEI in relation to all functions of the organization. The committee also provides consultation to existing AALHE committees to support them as they integrate DEI principles into their work.

Professional Development

Board Liaisons: Fiona Chrystall; Constance Tucker
Chair: Sue Henderson
Vice Chair: Kim Fath

The Professional Development Committee shall offer professional Development opportunities outside the annual conference.


Emerging Dialogues Board Liaison: Gina Polychronopoulos
Emerging Dialogues Chair:  Jessica Taylor
Emerging Dialogues Vice Chair:  Sarah Southwick

Intersection Chair: Rebecca Gibbons
Intersection Vice Chair: Sarah Wu
Intersection Asst. Vice Chair: Calli Holaway

The Publications Committee shall coordinate and develop publications on student learning assessment for professional development and the advancement of knowledge.

Recruitment and Retention

Board Liaisons: Kara Moloney, Karen White-Goyzueta  
Chair: Tere Naylor
Vice Chair: Christina Dryden

The Recruitment and Retention Committee shall analyze membership data and recruit and retain members. The committee shall recommend the conditions under which membership is established and renewed; manage Member volunteers; and direct an annual survey of members.