Twitter Chats

#AALHEchat

Join your AALHE colleagues as we discuss and debate important, controversial,  and potentially provocative topics. Each Twitter Chat has at least one facilitator who stimulates discussion and sometimes plays the devil’s advocate. In these topical chats, members and others discuss difficult issues in 140 characters or less. Lurk or fully participate in these fascinating discussions!

Are you new to Twitter? To participate, you need a Twitter account. Use the hashtag #aalhechat to see what others are saying and to contribute your own thoughts. You can find out more about how to participate at http://support.twitter.com/articles/215585-getting-started-with-twitter# or search for “Getting Started with Twitter.”

Upcoming Twitter Chats

  • November 19th @ 12 p.m. Pacific (3 p.m. Eastern) - *Please not that this chat has been rescheduled for December*
  • December 17th @ 12 p.m. Pacific (3 p.m. Eastern)

Previous Twitter Chats

  • Tuesday, September 17th, at 2:00 p.m. CST on the article, “Nursing’s Different”: Navigating Positive Change in Assessment Planning.
    • February 26, 2019, 3 - 4 PM EST, on the article, In Defense of Standardization: Let us Move on to an Actual Villain

      Some questions discussed in the February Twitter Chat:

      • Has your own overall experience with standardization been a positive one or a negative one? Explain why.
      • Provide an example of a time where standardization worked in practice at your institution.
      • Have you seen misalignment in assessment endeavors? Give an example.
      • How can efforts to standardize aspects of assessment benefit students and improve student outcomes in higher education?
      • How can efforts to standardize aspects of assessment benefit faculty and improve their involvement in assessment?
      • Does using the phase misalignment change your thoughts on standardization?
      • Many times we try to not use the word assessment because of negative associations. Given this, what word(s) should we use with faculty?